

Minutes

Annual General Meeting Australasian Association of Academic Primary Care

5pm AEST, Thursday 30 July 2020

1. Attendance/apologies

- 1.1. **Present:** Lauren Ball, Katelyn Barnes, Chris Barton, Andrew Bonney, Lynsey Brown, Vera Costa, Brigid Cassells, Melinda Choy, Amy Coe, Sarah Dennis, Kirsty Douglas, Leah East, Anna Fragkoudi, Oliver Frank, Felicity Goodyear-Smith, Michelle Guppy, Elizabeth Halcomb, Sally Hall, Ben Harris-Roxas, Charlotte Hespe, Rowena Ivers, Michael Kidd, Phyllis Lau, Riki Lane, Sarah Larkins, Siaw-Teng Liaw, Katrina Long, Jo-Anne Manski-Nankervis, Danielle Mazza, Rita McMorrow, Kristi Milley, Dimity Pond, Jan Radford, Jennifer Reath, Richard Reed, Joanne Reeve, Lauralie Richard, Grant Russell, Sajal Saha, Jane Smith, Hyun Song, Nigel Stocks, Tim Stokes, Liz Sturgiss, Marguerite Tracy, Tim Usherwood, Kylie Vuong, Katharine Wallis, Nicholas Zwar
- 1.2. Apologies: Nick Glasgow, Rose Liu, Brett Montgomery, Kathleen O'Brien, Sanjyot Vagholkar

2. Minutes and actions from 2019 AGM

Moved by Mark Harris. Seconded by Jennifer Reath

Approved

3. Annual Reports

- 3.1 Membership and Marketing Subcommittee presented by Lauralie Richard
- 3.2 ECR and Capacity Development Subcommittee presented by Rita McMorrow
- 3.3 Conference and Professional Development Subcommittee presented by Liz Sturgiss
- 3.4 Policy and Advocacy Subcommittee presented by Grant Russell

 (Felicity Goodyear-Smith would like a brief summary of committee to disseminate to New Zealand colleagues)
- 3.5 Treasurer's report presented by Chris Barton (currently in the process of identifying an auditor to audit the finances)
- 3.6 President's report presented by Kirsty Douglas

4. Proposal for a new AAAPC Prize named in honour of Prof Neil Carson, AO - founding AAAGP President

Michael Kidd proposed a new award in honour of AAAGP's inaugural President Prof Neil Carson, AO with the focus on leadership in primary care and medical education.

Moved – Michael Kidd. Seconded by Danielle Mazza.

Approved

Members voted on the motions via poll.

First motion: AAAPC develop a new award named after Prof Neil Carson, AO founding President of AAAGP/AAAPC.

Second motion: The Neil Carson Award be awarded to an AAAPC financial member who has

made significant and sustained and continuing contributions to primary care in Australasia particularly in the areas of education, training and mentoring.

Results: 47 attendees voted "for". 1 attendee "abstained".

Both motions passed.

5. Election of President, Vice President, Editor and Co-opted member(s)

- President one nomination Phyllis Lau
- Vice President one nomination Liz Sturgiss
- Editor one nomination Melinda Choy
- Chair of the Primary Care Education subcommittee one nomination Kylie Vuong
- Conference and Professional Development subcommittee vacant
- Co-opted member to the executive Lynsey Brown

Each position declared and elected unopposed.

6. Other business without notice

Jo-Anne Manski-Nankervis asked into the AAAPC's executive position on the development of PBRN's and the advocacy occurring in this area. AAAPC collaborating with other organisations like RACGP and other professional colleges who are supportive of a PBRN. Lena Sanci leading the PBRN working group under the Policy and Advocacy Subcommittee and keen to move forward and collaborate where opportunities exist. AAAPC is multidisciplinary so engagement and collaboration with regards to PBRN needs to be inclusive of the broader disciplines. Also had discussions with ACTA, NPS and Commonwealth departments.

Riki Lane asked if any thought given to encouraging participation by Indigenous primary care health workers, e.g. developing scholarships for conference attendance. Membership and Marketing Subcommittee developed a scholarship program to support attendance at the conference. Scholarship dedicated to supporting the attendance for one person from Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islanders of Australia or Māori and/or Pacific People of New Zealand.

7. Presentation of the Charles Bridges Webb Medal

Kirsty Douglas presented the 2020 Charles Bridges Webb Medal to Prof Danielle Mazza, Prof of General Practice, Monash University.

Phyllis Lau, on behalf of AAAPC, thanked Kirsty Douglas for expertise and advice over the three years as President of AAAPC and Brigid Cassells for her support to the executive committee.