AAAPC News - August 2020

21 Aug 2020 1:33 PM | Lynsey Brown (Administrator)

AAAPC Annual Research Conference - August 14-15 2020

This time last week we were halfway through our first ever online AAAPC Annual Research Conference. How amazing to be able to virtually gather with 180 colleagues from Australia, New Zealand, Norway, USA, the UK and South Africa! How wonderful to have the opportunity to be inspired by the enthusiasm, ideas and range of expertise within our primary care research community.

Thank you especially to Liz Sturgiss and the whole Conference and Professional Development Subcommittee (Lauren Ball, Chris Barton, Lynsey Brown, Vera Costa, Kyle Eggleton, Anna Fragkoudi, Phyllis Lau, Lauralie Richard and Katharine Wallis) for the amazing job that they did.

Congratulations to all the prize winners recognised at the closing of the conference:

  • Adnan Alam on winning the Australian Journal of Primary Health Best Oral Paper Prize for 'Advance care planning in dementia: A qualitative study of Australian general practitioners'.
  • Lesley Hawes on winning the The University of Queensland Primary Care Clinical Unit Award for Excellence in Translating Evidence into Practice for 'A framework for antimicrobial stewardship in general practice'.
  • Asvini Subasinghe on winning the First Time Presenter Award for 'Contraceptive utilisation in women with a history of unintended pregnancies: Insights from the
    Australian Contraceptive ChOice pRoject (ACCORd)'
  • Pravik Solanki on winning the Best Poster Prize for poster entitled 'Healthcare for transgender and gender diverse Australians: Comparing patient complexity in the 'informed consent’ primary care model with the secondary model of care'.

Many thanks also to the conference sponsors who enable us to give these prizes: CSIRO Publishing / Australian Journal of Primary Health, The University of Queensland Primary Care Clinical Unit, The University of Melbourne Department of General Practice and WentWest.

Some of you may still be in conference withdrawal, but don't worry, it's not all over...

  • The AAAPC conference app will be live until the end of 2020, with ongoing access to all the abstracts and posters.
  • If you haven't done it already, please fill in the evaluation, which you can also access on the conference app.
  • Don't forget that AAAPC will be on again next mid next year, hosted by the University of Melbourne - format and dates TBC - watch this space!

Finally, the joy of being part of AAAPC in the same spirit of the conference lives on. One new member said, "I found your (conference) tweets so positive and encouraging, and the multidisciplinary approach really shone through. It was just so refreshing to see this sort of grassroots approach that it convinced me to apply for membership."


AAAPC Annual General Meeting - July 30 2020

The AGM minutes and all of the reports that were presented are available on the website.

A few key things that happened at the AGM this year were:

  • Our new President, Dr Phyllis Lau was elected.
  • Our new Vice-Present, Dr Liz Sturgiss was elected.
  • Our new Chair of the Primary Care Education Subcommittee, Dr Kylie Vuong was elected.
  • Dr Lynsey Brown was co-opted to the Executive Committee.
  • A motion was passed for a new AAAPC Prize with a focus on leadership in primary care and education to be named in honour of Prof Neil Carson AO and founding AAAGP President. Further details will be announced in time.
  • The Charles-Bridges-Webb medal was presented.

Our immediate past President, Prof Kirsty Douglas, was profusely thanked for her past three years of steady and wise service as President and many thanks were also extended to Brigid Cassells for her support of AAAPC.

Bridges-Webb Medal winner - Prof Danielle Mazza

The prestigious Charles Bridges-Webb Medal is a recognition of an AAAPC member who has made and will continue to make international standard teaching and/or research contributions to academic activities in the primary care environment.

A huge congratulations to Professor Danielle Mazza, this year's extremely worthy winner. Prof Danielle Mazza, Head of the Department of General Practice at Monash University, is a leader in primary care research and has achieved so much in closing evidence practice gaps in women's sexual and reproductive health, preventive care, and primary care management of cancer. She joins a long list of other distinguished recipients. Congratulations again Prof Mazza!

AAAPC Membership and Marketing Subcommittee #OurPrimaryCare campaign

Thank you to everyone who contributed to the recent #OurPrimaryCare campaign that reached its peak during the recent AAAPC Annual Research Conference. It has been such an encouraging, thoughtful and motivating collection of descriptions of what we all do.

For those who missed out or simply want more of it, look up #ourprimarycare on Twitter, head to the relevant page on the website or watch the video.


AAAPC Executive Committee Announcement

Congratulations and thank you to A/Prof Lauren Ball who is stepping up to be the new Chair of the Conference and Professional Development Subcommittee. 

This is wonderful news, but it does also mean that the Secretary position is now vacant. If you are interested in the position or have any questions, please email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software