AAAPC Annual Research Conference Most Distinguished Paper Award

In collaboration with the Society for Academic Primary Care (SAPC) in the UK, the AAAPC offers an extra, international dimension to an outstanding paper submitted to the Annual Research Conference.

The AAAPC Distinguished Paper awardee is invited to present their paper in the UK at the SAPC Annual Scientific Meeting in the year following the Annual Research Conference. The awardee will receive a small bursary towards the expense of attending the Conference. The award brings together two leading membership bodies responsible for advancing primary care through research and education in Australia/New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

The AAAPC Committee selects a winner from the abstracts submitted for presentation at the Conference. The selected paper is presented during the Awards Plenary session at the AAAPC Annual Research Conference.

Congratulations to 2020 winner Prof Grant Russell for paper entitled 'Optimising primary care for refugees: Findings from an Australian cluster randomised trial'.

Past recipients

 2020 Prof Grant Russell, Monash University
 2019 Prof Danielle Mazza, Monash University
 Dr Victoria Palmer, University of Melbourne
 2017 Dr Penny Abbott, Western Sydney University
 2016 A/Prof John Furler, University of Melbourne
 2015 Dr Jennifer Walker, University of Melbourne
 Prof Felicity Goodyear-Smith, University of Auckland
 2013 Dr Megan Elliot-Rudder, University of New South Wales
 2012 Prof Kelsey Hegarty, University of Melbourne
 2011 Prof Nicholas Zwar, University of New South Wales

 Dr Ross Bailie, Charles Darwin University

 Dr Damin Si, University of Queensland

 Prof Jon Emery, University of Western Australia

 Prof Mark Nelson, University of Tasmania; Dr Caroline Laurence, University of Adelaide

Early Career Best Paper

In 2020 WentWest sponsored a prize for the Best Paper delivered by an early career researcher, academic registrar or trainee at the Annual Research Conference. 

The AAAPC Committee selects a winner from the abstracts submitted by early career authors for presentation at the Conference. The selected paper is presented during the Awards Plenary session at the Annual Research Conference.

Congratulations to 2020 winner Dr Fitriana Ekawati for paper entitled 'Adapting international hypertensive disorders of pregnancy (HDP) management recommendations to the context of Indonesian primary care'.

Past recipients

 2020 Dr Fitriana Ekawati
 University of Melbourne
 2019 Dr Lauralie Richard
 University of Otago (Dunedin)

Australian Journal of Primary Health Best Oral Paper Prize

At the AAAPC Annual Research Conference, Australian Journal of Primary Health presents a prize for the Best Oral Paper relevant to the interests and scope of the journal.

The prize consists of a certificate and a year’s subscription to the journal (print and online). The winner(s) is offered free Open Access in the journal for an accepted, peer-reviewed article arising from the Best Oral Paper. Following the conference the prize winner(s) are promoted more widely through social media channels and on the AJPH website.

Papers accepted for oral presentation, focusing on those informing critical discussion on primary and community services integrating theory and practice, and using perspectives from a range of disciplines are eligible. Oral papers presented at the conference are assessed by the journal’s judging committee, comprising the Co-Editors-in-Chief, members of the Editorial Panel and their nominees.

The judging committee considers several criteria for the prize, including originality, rigour, relevance to primary and community health policy and practice, inclusion of relevant groups to the research, and quality of presentation.

Congratulations to 2020 winner Adnan Alam for paper entitled 'Advance care planning in dementia: A qualitative study of Australian general practitioners'.

Past recipients

 2020 Dr Adnan Alam
 Monash University
 2019 Ms Amy Bestman
 University of New South Wales

The University of Queensland Primary Care Clinical Unit Award for Excellence in Translating Evidence into Practice

In 2020 the University of Queensland (UQ) Primary Care Clinical Unit (PCCU)
sponsored a prize for Excellence in Translating Research Evidence into Practice.

This award supports early and mid-career researchers undertaking research translating evidence into practice. 

The Award includes $1000 for research related purposes (e.g., attend conference, publication etc) to be used within 12 months.

Congratulations to 2020 winner Lesley Hawes (Monash University) for paper entitled 'A framework for antimicrobial stewardship in general practice'.

First Time Presenter Award

From 2014 until 2018 the AAAPC sponsored a prize for Best Paper delivered by a First Time Presenter at the Primary Health Care Research Conference, hosted by the Primary Health Care Research and Information Service. If you were presenting a 15 minute paper for the first time at a Primary Health Care Research Conference you were eligible to be judged by the AAAPC research prize committee.

In 2020 the award was re-introduced at the AAAPC Annual Research Conference. Eligible First Time Presenters were judged by the ARC Prize Committee.

Congratulations to 2020 winner Asvini Subasinghe for paper entitled 'Contraceptive utilisation in women with a history of unintended pregnancies: Insights from the
Australian Contraceptive ChOice pRoject (ACCORd)'.

Past Recipients

 2020 Dr Asvini Subasinghe
 Monash University
 Dr Tammie ST Choi
 Monash University
 2017 Dr Carol Atmore
 University of Otago
 2016 Ms Erin O'Hare
 University of Melbourne
 2015 Ms Chiyo Morton
 University of Melbourne
 2014 Ms Grace Moran
 University of Birmingham

Best Poster Prize

Each year delegates at the AAAPC Annual Research Conference are asked to vote for a poster to receive the Best Poster Prize.

Congratulations to 2020 winner Pravik Solanki for poster entitled 'Healthcare for transgender and gender diverse Australians: Comparing patient complexity in the 'informed consent’ primary care model with the secondary model of care.

Past recipients

 2020 Mr Pravik Solanki
Monash University

 Dr Katelyn Barnes
 Dr Hok Lim

Australian National University
University of Melbourne


The North American Primary Care Research Group (NAPCRG), in collaboration with AAAPC, provides an award to assist an AAAPC member to travel to and present their work at the NAPCRG annual meeting. The award consists of free registration for the conference. In order to apply you must be a financial member of the AAAPC.

To apply for the award please submit your abstract to NAPCRG and send a copy of your abstract as submitted to to be considered for the prize.

A judging panel will be convened by the AAAPC Executive to decide the winner.

Congratulations to 2019 winner Grant Russell and co-authors for paper entitled 'Primary health care access for vulnerable communities: Uncovering the balance between supply and demand'.

Past recipients

 2019 Prof Grant Russell
 Monash University
 2018 Prof Felicity Goodyear-Smith University of Auckland
 2017 Prof Grant Russell Monash University
 2016 Prof Ronny Gunnarsson James Cook University
 2015 A/Prof Clare Heal James Cook University

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software