Log in
Log in

Organisational Partners

AAAPC Organisational Members have made a significant financial contribution to the work of the AAAPC.

Interested in getting involved? Become an organisational member, visit

Adelaide Rural Clinical School adelaide-rural-clinical-school/

  The University of Melbourne Department of General Practice and Primary Care school-structure/general-practice

   Monash University Department of General Practice sphpm/general-practice

International Collaborators

AAAPC currently connects with the Society for Academic Primary Care in the UK and the North American Primary Care Research Group in the US through the awarding of reciprocal prizes. This provides AAAPC members with the opportunity to present at the annual meetings of our international colleagues and enables the prize winners from these networks to present at the AAAPC Annual Research Conference.

    Interested in a partnership with AAAPC? Contact us at

    Society for Academic Primary Care
     North American Primary Care
    Research Group

    Australian & New Zealand Heads of Department GP Group

    AAAPC was founded in 1983 as the Australian Association for Academic General Practice (AAAGP). The original aims of the organisation were to: advance the discipline of academic general practice through the promotion of scholarship and innovation in research and medical education; and to represent the University Departments of General Practice where the majority of senior researchers were based. AAAGP helped to put academics from departments around Australia in touch with each other. Throughout AAAPC's history, this network of Heads of Departments has been an important affiliate.

    AAAPC's vision is for a multidisciplinary primary care oriented health care system founded on patient-centred, primary care principles and developed through evidence and education. As we grow to achieve this vision, we endeavour to develop networks across disciplines and across countries. Interested in getting involved? Contact us at

    Currently the HODS group is an informal networking group inclusive of all HODS of GP in Australia and New Zealand. We meet virtually 4-6 times per year and discuss issues of common importance – eg organisation and funding for GP placements in medical schools, advocacy around practice incentive payments, leadership in GP in universities etc. We are supportive of each other and in recent years have conducted a couple of surveys of medical schools to better understand the funding, clinical placement opportunities and leadership opportunities in general practice and primary care.



    Head of Department /
    Clinical lead


    Australian National University

    Prof Kirsty Douglas

    Bond University

    A/Prof Jane Smith

    Curtin University

    Dr Joanne Stewart (Acting)

    Deakin University

    Prof Gary Rogers

    Flinders University

    Prof Richard Reed

    Griffith University

    A/Prof Kyle Vuong

    James Cook University

    Prof Clare Heal

    Macquarie University

    A/Prof Sanjyot Vagholkar

    Monash University

    Prof Danielle Mazza

    Newcastle University

    Dr Graeme Horton

    University of Adelaide

    Prof Nigel Stocks 

    University of Auckland

    A/Prof Sue Wells

    University of Melbourne

    Prof Lena Sanci

    University of New England

    A/Prof Michelle Guppy

    University of New South Wales

    A/Prof Joel Rhee

    University of Notre Dame (Fremantle)

    A/Prof Lucy Gilkes

    University of Notre Dame (Sydney)

    A/Prof Charlotte Hespe

    University of Otago (Christchurch)

    Dr Ben Hudson

    University of Otago (Dunedin)

    Professor Tim Stokes

    University of Otago (Wellington)

    Professor Lynn McBain

    University of Queensland

    Prof Katharine Wallis

    University of Sydney

    A/Prof Fiona Robinson
    A/Prof Melissa Kang

    University of Tasmania

    Prof Mark Nelson

    University of Western Australia

    A/Prof Nahal Mavaddat 

    University of Western Sydney

    Prof Penny Abbott

    University of Wollongong

    Prof Andrew Bonney

    AAAPC is proud to connect with multidisciplinary partners in Australia and New Zealand.



    President: Tim Stokes

    Address: C/O PO Box 664, Toorak, VIC 3142

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software